OSU Logo

Materials Science at Oregon State University

Isotropic Conductive Adhesives (ICAs) - PLEASE NOTE - Seminar is on Monday at 4 pm in 1001 KEC

Date: Monday, Nov 29th
Presenter: James Morris, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Portland State University


Electrically conductive adhesives (ECAs) provide environmentally friendly interconnect alternatives to solder for the RoHS world, with applications from flip-chip to surface-mount, with ECA technologies exhibiting advantages and disadvantages in these applications. The seminar will introduce both isotropic and anisotropic conductive adhesives (ICAs and ACAs,) and anisotropic conductive films (ACFs), but will concentrate on ICAs. An ICA is typically and Ag-epoxy composite, with the Ag filler in the form of flakes and powder above the percolation threshold. Electrical properties will be discussed in some detail, but ultimately, the primary topic of the seminar will be the understanding of failure mechanisms for improvement of reliability.


Jim is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Portland State University, Oregon, and Professor Emeritus at the State University of New York at Binghamton. His B.Sc. and 1st Class Honors M.Sc. degrees in Physics are from the University of Auckland, New Zealand, and his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering is from the University of Saskatchewan, Canada. He has served as Department Chair at both Binghamton and Portland, and was the founding Director of Binghamton?s Institute for Research in Electronics Packaging. Jim has also held faculty positions at Saskatchewan, Victoria University of Wellington (NZ), and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, with visiting/sabbatical positions at Loughborough University of Technology (UK), Chemnitz University of Technology (Germany), University of Maryland, University of Bordeaux, University of Greenwich (London), Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden), Dresden University of Technology, University of Canterbury (NZ), and Helsinki University of Technology (as Nokia-Fulbright Fellow), with honorary appointments at Shanghai University and Shanghai Jiao Tong University. Other positions have included Senior Technician and Post-Doctoral Fellow at the U of S, brief periods with Delphi Engineering (NZ) and IBM-Endicott, and industrial consulting.
Jim is an IEEE Fellow and an IEEE Components, Packaging, and Manufacturing (CPMT) Society Distinguished Lecturer. He has served as CPMT Treasurer (1991-1997) and Vice-President for Conferences (1998-2003), and is currently the joint Oregon CAS/CPMT Chapter Chair, and won the CPMT David Feldman Outstanding Contribution Award in 2005. He is an Associate-Editor of the IEEE Transactions on both Components and Packaging Technology and Electronics Packaging Manufacturing, and has been General Chair of three CPMT-sponsored conferences, Treasurer or Technical Chair of others, and serves on several CPMT conference committees. As the CPMT Society representative on the IEEE Nanotechnology Council, he has instituted a regular Nanopackaging column in the IEEE Nanotechnology magazine, establishd a NTC Nanopackaging technical committee, (which also acts as a program committee for annual IEEE NANO conferences,) is the 2010-2011 NTC Awards Chair, and will chair the IEEE NANO 2011 conference in Portland. He also chairs the Oregon Chapter of the IEEE Education Society, which he co-founded in 2005.
His research activities are focused on electrically conductive adhesives and the electrical conduction mechanisms in discontinuous thin metal films, with applications to nanopackaging and single-electron transistor nanoelectronics. He has edited four books on electronics packaging, with a fifth under contract, and lectures internationally on nanopackaging and electrically conductive adhesives.